Press Releases

December 2, 1998

OTS 98-92 - OTS Announces CRA Examination Schedule for 1st Quarter 1999

Office of Thrift Supervision

NEWS

FOR RELEASE at 1:00 p.m. EST For further information

Wednesday, December 2, 1998 Contact: Ella P. Allen

OTS 98-92 202/906-6924

OTS Announces CRA Examination Schedule For 1st Quarter 1999

WASHINGTON, D.C., December 2, 1998 -- The Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS) today announced the availability of a list of savings associations scheduled for Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) examinations during the first quarter of 1999.

CRA regulations adopted in April 1995 require all federal financial regulatory agencies to publish quarterly CRA examination schedules.

The lists are divided by OTS region and by state within each of the five regions. Included is the month that each institution's examination is expected to begin. While the institutions listed are scheduled for examination, unforeseen circumstances can sometimes cause examination dates to change, OTS said. For example, issues might arise that require OTS to spend more time and resources on a specific examination than originally allotted, thus delaying its completion and forcing a rescheduling of other examinations.

If an institution is rescheduled for a subsequent quarter, that information will be included in a later list.

In some cases, an institution may be examined by an OTS region other than the one that includes the state in which the institution is located because of the institution's corporate structure.

Expected CRA Examination Schedule 1st Quarter 1999.

See attached file for Institution Listing

###

The Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS), a bureau of the U.S. Treasury, regulates and supervises the nation's thrift industry. OTS' mission is to ensure the safety and soundness of thrift institutions and to support their role as home mortgage lenders and providers of other community credit and financial services. For copies of news releases or other documents call PubliFax at 202/906-5660, or visit the OTS web page at www.ots.treas.gov.

OTS' five regions and the states in each are as follows:

Northeast (NE)	Southeast (SE)	Central (CEN)	Midwest (MW)	West (W)
Connecticut	Alabama	Illinois	Arkansas	Alaska
Delaware	Florida	Indiana	Colorado	Arizona
Maine	Georgia	Kentucky	Iowa	California
Massachusetts	Maryland	Michigan	Kansas	Hawaii
New Jersey	North Carolina	Ohio	Louisiana	Guam
New Hampshire	South Carolina	Tennessee	Minnesota	Idaho
New York	Virginia	Wisconsin	Mississippi	Montana
Pennsylvania	District of Columbia		Missouri	Nevada
Rhode Island	Puerto Rico		Nebraska	Oregon
West Virginia	Virgin Islands		North Dakota	Utah
Vermont			South Dakota	Washington
			New Mexico	Wyoming
			Oklahoma	
			Texas	