Press Releases

December 1, 2008

OTS 08-058 - MEDIA ADVISORY: Media Registration Deadline Approaches for National Housing Forum

FOR RELEASE: Monday, Dec. 1, 2008

CONTACT: William Ruberry (202) 906-6677

Washington, **D.C.** — Members of the news media have until Friday, Dec. 5 to register for the third annual National Housing Forum, the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS) announced today.

The Forum will be on Monday, December 8, at the National Press Club at 14th and F Streets, NW. Registration begins at 8 a.m.

The Forum will bring together some of the nation's foremost experts in housing and mortgage finance to discuss and debate the most significant issues facing the country, including: (1) trends and outlook for the U.S. housing and mortgage markets; (2) regulators' efforts to deal with industry challenges and market uncertainties; (3) future of the mortgage-backed securities market; and (4) regulation of the mortgage lending industry in the future.

Scheduled speakers include:

John M. Reich, Director, Office of Thrift Supervision Jon S. Corzine, Governor, State of New Jersey Rep. Barney Frank, Chairman of the House Committee on Financial Services Robert L. Johnson, Chairman of RLJ Companies; Neel Kashkari, Assistant Secretary, US Treasury Department Steven L. Antonakes, Commissioner of the Massachusetts Division of Banking Sheila C. Bair, Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation John Courson, Chief Operating Officer of the Mortgage Bankers Association Rod Dubitsky, Managing Director of Credit Suisse John C. Dugan, Comptroller of the Currency Curtis L. Hage, Chairman & CEO of Home Federal Bank Ronald E. Hermance, Jr., Chairman, President & CEO of Hudson City Savings Bank Donald L. Kohn, Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System James B. Lockhart III, Director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency

John Taylor, President & CEO of the National Community Reinvestment Coalition Mark Zandi, Co-Founder and Chief Economist of Moody's Economy.com

Panel moderators are expected to be Steve Liesman of CNBC; Kathleen Hays of Bloomberg TV; David Asman of Fox Business Network; and Jaret Seiberg of the Stanford Group. Other key industry executives, consumer group leaders and community organization officers are also expected.

Members of the news media who would like to attend should contact Joy Burr by e-mail at <u>Joy.Burr@ots.treas.gov</u> or by phone at (202) 906-7428. The Forum agenda and important guidelines for the news media are attached.

Related Files

- O8-058B National Housing Forum Agenda <u>http://www.occ.gov/static/news-issuances/ots/press-releases/ots-pr-2008-58a.pdf</u>
- O8-058A National Housing Forum 2008 Media Guidelines -<u>http://www.occ.gov/static/news-issuances/ots/press-releases/ots-pr-2008-58b.pdf</u>