Skip to main content
OCC Flag

An official website of the United States government

News Release 2010-61 | June 1, 2010

Agencies Release List of Distressed or Underserved Nonmetropolitan Middle-Income Geographies

Joint Release

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Office of Thrift Supervision

WASHINGTON—The federal bank and thrift regulatory agencies today announced the availability of the 2010 list of distressed or underserved nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies where revitalization or stabilization activities will receive Community Reinvestment Act consideration as "community development."

"Distressed nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies" and "underserved nonmetropolitan middle-income geographies" are designated by the agencies in accordance with their CRA regulations. The criteria for designating these areas are available on the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) website ( The designations reflect local economic conditions, including triggers such as unemployment, poverty, and population changes.

As with past releases, the 2010 list will incorporate a one-year lag period for geographies designated as distressed or underserved in 2009, but not designated as such in the 2010 release. Geographies subject to this one-year lag period are eligible to receive consideration for community development activities for 12 months after publication of the 2010 list.

The 2010 list and lists from previous years can be found on the FFIEC Website, along with information about the data sources used to generate the list of distressed or underserved geographies.

Media Contacts

Federal Reserve Susan Stawick (202) 452-2955
OCC Dean DeBuck (202) 874-5770
FDIC David Barr (202) 898-6992
OTS William Ruberry (202) 906-6677

Media Contact

Dean DeBuck
(202) 874-5770