Skip to main content
OCC Flag

An official website of the United States government

August 2019

Flood Disaster Protection Act (Interagency)

This publication is part of:

Collection: Comptroller's Handbook

Series: Consumer Compliance


This booklet addresses compliance with flood insurance requirements for lending institutions. It also addresses the types of structures eligible for flood insurance under the National Flood Insurance Program, which is administered primarily under the National Flood Insurance Act.


This booklet applies to the OCC's supervision of national banks and federal savings associations. References to national banks in this booklet also generally apply to federal branches and agencies of foreign banking organizations. Refer to 12 USC 3102(b) and the "Federal Branches and Agencies Supervision" booklet of the Comptroller's Handbook for more information.